sisters.

“A sister is one of the nicest things that can happen to anyone.” – Anonymous

It’s simple truth.

I have three sisters and they are one of the nicest things to happen to me.

For my daughters, their relationship is somewhere in between. They are still riding with training wheels and studying the picture book on how to be a good sister.

I remember the day we brought Mia home from the hospital. Ava was only 23 months old. Excited for her new playmate. Their closeness in age was a gift.

However, they’ve grown up a bit and on any given day their relationship can go from loving sister to battlefield in a heartbeat.

Hair pulling. Pinching. Screeching. Tattling.

Tug o’ war over a toys.

Competitive. If you hug one, you better hug the other. Tickle one. Tickle the other.

Occasionally, they let me behind the curtain and I get to see their relationship blossoming.

Happy in their partnership.

Beauty in the simplicity of just being together.

Mia wanting a good night kiss from Ava each and every evening before bedtime.

A friendly wrestling match wrapped in giggles.

A painting project that doesn’t end up on paper, but instead artistically applied to hands and faces. A secret pact to get as messy as possible; requiring an immediate and shared bubble bath.

Princess dress up; imaginations full of castles, horses, prince charmings, and happily ever afters.

Each holding different ends of a long string and running through the back yard; connected but free. Laughing.

Shared joy for bubbles. Lots of bubbles.

Holding hands.

Hugs.

“Sisters are probably the most competitive relationship within the family, but once the sisters are grown, it becomes the strongest relationship.” – Margaret Mead

I was the youngest of 4 daughters. I’m sure we all have our own perspective on each other’s role in the family, but for me it wasn’t always easy being the youngest.

Colleen. Erin. Alison. Go ahead. Disagree. I know you want to!

But because I came along later, it was a bit lonely sometimes. I was little miss tag-a-long. Never invited, always a required addition.

And then we grew up.

We all have our own lives and families now, but our connection is strong. Shared experiences of marriage, childbirth, careers, friendship, and family.

Here we are today. My sisters and mom on our spa trip last June.

my mom and sisters last year at Red Rock Mountain Spa

I’ll pause here to remember that my life has been a journey made much nicer with my sisters by my side.

Ava and Mia. Are you listening?

Love one another.

Protect each other.

Be the best of friends.

“She is your mirror, shining back at you with a world of possibilities. She is your witness, who sees you at your worst and best, and loves you anyway. She is your partner in crime, your midnight companion, someone who knows when you are smiling, even in the dark. She is your teacher, your defense attorney, your personal press agent, even your shrink. Some days, she’s the reason you wish you were an only child.” – Barbara Alpert

Leave a Reply

