i will. i promise.

Tears in my eyes. Heavy in heart.

No words can describe the unthinkable tragedy that took place today in Newtown, Connecticut.

This tragedy has touched me deeply and I am writing this post to reflect on what is truly important in my life.

I will hold my children close tonight.

I will hug them until they wiggle out of my arms and run away giggling.

I will kiss their apple cheeks for as long as they’ll let me.

I will hold their tiny hands.

I will tell my girls, “I love you,” at every opportunity.

I promise.

I will remember to love Mia’s pink blanket as much as she does. It’s stinky and I have to wash it every couple of days, but she loves it and it makes her happy.

To keep a houseful of paint brushes and paint, elmer’s glue, pipe cleaners, construction paper, stick on jewels, tiny scissors, and crayons. The girls can not get enough arts and crafts. It doesn’t matter that it may end up on the walls, or ground into the carpet, or stain the couch, or stick to my feet, or require a bath after it’s use.

Ava’s never ending quest to ask “why.” I won’t get frustrated when she asks me why for the umpteenth time. I’ll exercise patience and answer her thoughtfully.

How Mia says the word skeleton as “selskin.” It’s just so cute and it always makes me laugh.

Reading book after book each night. I will give into to “just one more, Momma,” with a smile.

Rocking in the dark, under the sparkling rainbow of stars floating out from the night light unicorn that soothes my smallest one to sleep.

Mia’s ability to tell a knock knock joke and say with pride,”I told a joke!!”

Big billowing bubbles baths for the girls in the evening and the how fun it is to add glow sticks to the water and turn off the lights.

The power of sisters and how much they love each other.

Their passion for music. Their voices singing loud and with joy. Dancing in the living room.

Good health for both girls.

A home that is warm and safe.

Loving parents. Grandmas and grandpas, aunts and uncles, friends, and cousins who love also my daughters so much.

More giggles, smiles, and hugs from my favorite people in the world.

Tiny sparkly shoes on soft round toddler feet. Flirty, floaty, sparkly little dresses and tutus.

Listening to my daughters playing. The make believe world filled with adventure, magic, and creativity. Remembering to jump in and join them.

To always have fun and remember it’s okay to be silly.

Believing in magic again through my daughters’ eyes. Really believing, because that makes it true.

Love. Receiving love that is infinite in scope and giving love back in the same way.

My heart knows no bounds in loving them and that is the most precious gift.

——

My prayers go out to the families of Newtown, I wish them peace, strength, and love.

4 thoughts on “i will. i promise.

  1. An unbelievable tragedy, an opportunity for all of us to share love with every child we see and meet in honor of those whose lives have been taken. Thank you for your loving thoughts and word for Ava and Mia.

    Sue

Leave a Reply

