wishing for kittens

Ava really wants a kitten. Badly.

She asks me every day when we can get a kitten.

Every single day.

I’ve been ambivalent about taking in more animals, as we already have a dog and a fish. But she keeps asking anyways.

This week, she decided to change her tactics. Now, she actually wants to be a kitten. A real one.

Her request brought back an immediate childhood memory. When I was small, I crawled around under my grandmother’s dining room table, pretending to be a cat. So, maybe it’s my fault and it’s hereditary.

Like mother like daughter.

As part of her new approach, she created an elaborate drawing of dandelions and wishes. On paper, she drew dandelions with seeds blowing in the wind. Written on the page were words like  “I wish kitten foe real” and “I want to relli, relli, relli” and “Act like kitin.”

She was convinced that she would turn into a kitten by morning. When morning came, she was disappointed to find she was still human. She came out of her room with a sad look on her face and said, “Mommy, my wish didn’t come true. I didn’t turn into a kitten. I must have done it wrong.”  We chatted awhile about how much she would miss out on if she turned into a kitten. No school or friends. No vacations. No pizza. No ice cream. I wouldn’t be able to understand her because she would only meow.

She insisted that she didn’t mind. She said she would hang out with Lucy, our dog, during the day while I was at work. She said she could go on  vacations because cats were allowed on airplanes and in hotels. She would be happy to eat cat food, even though I told her it tasted terrible. She said she would still snuggle with me and lick my hand to show she loved me. In her mind, being a kitten was pretty cool.

So, she set out to write a new wish, thinking that her first drawing wasn’t enough to do the job. She came up with this:

The request this time was more specific. She wrote “orange and white” and “I’m going to have fur” punctuated with “please, please, please”. She drew a picture of herself blowing the dandelion seeds into the wind. Wish made. If at first you don’t succeed, try, try again.

She was less disappointed this morning when she still hadn’t turned into a kitten.

Maybe this was her ploy to actually get a kitten. I don’t know. I’m sure she’ll just keep asking until I give in.

However, I will treasure these drawings because they show the innocence of believing in something you can’t see. A belief that wishes come true, if you just wish hard enough. A belief that blowing the seeds off a dandelion will change the world in some important way.

Her efforts are almost worth getting kitten. Almost.

 “The evening star is shinin’ bright. So make a wish and hold on tight. There’s magic in the air tonight, and anything can happen.” – Tiana, Princess and the Frog

2 thoughts on “wishing for kittens

  1. So sweet. Definitely hang onto those drawings.
    I remember my younger sister went through a spell when she punctuated every sentence with “meow, meow” just like Henrietta Kitty-Cat on Mr. Roger’s Neighborhood. Not sure how our mom put up with that, as it lasted for weeks!
    -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

