bobby pins and ballet shoes

It is clear, I’ll never attempt to cut my kid’s hair. I leave it to the professionals to do it once every couple of months. I am trying to avoid my own upbringing of home cut bangs; which may or may not have scarred me for life.

However, having little girls means styling hair and I will admit I am not very good at it.

This means my girls get uneven braids, lopsided buns, and messy pony tails.

The only thing I have going for me is they don’t seem to mind if it’s messy, uneven, or lopsided. They love it all the same.

Just last week, Mia asked for three braids in her hair, not two. I tried to convince her otherwise, but she wanted three.

So, I put one on each side and one down the back. Just like in the book, The Giving Tree, she was happy.

Now big sister wanted in, so the next day she received the three braid treatment as well.

I have friends who can style hair beautifully. Carefully constructed and perfect, every time.

This is simply not in my wheelhouse.

Which brings me to the spring recital. It is a ballet, so it means perfectly neat buns styled on top of each tiny dancer’s head.

I have to do it, which means I need to figure it out.

My challenge? To coax a bun out of my four-year old’s blond baby fine page-boy hair.

The pressure was on.

Recital day arrived, Mia woke up from her nap and put on her pink tights, leotard, and the fluffiest tutu in the history of tutus. She ran out from her room smiling, “Momma, I’m ready!”

She stepped on to the stool in her bathroom and gazed in the mirror. It was time. Go big or go home!

I managed to get most of her hair up into a pony tail on top of her head. I wrapped it into a tiny little bun and pinned it. It was such a small bun, there were bobby pins sticking out from every which way.

Crap. It’s also a bit lopsided. Maybe she won’t notice. I don’t really have time to try again.

I gaze at her face in the mirror. She is content. I keep going.

Now for the rest of the hair spilling out around the base of her neck.

I start pinning. One. Two. Three. Four. Five. Six and so on.

I pin until it is all tucked up. I probably used fifteen bobby pins.

There. Finished. Bun in place.

Finally, it was time to spray. I flattened all the little fly aways and generally sprayed all over to keep the bun in place; hoping her hair-do would stay up until the end of the show.

In a word, her hair was a…..helmet. Her only complaint? Her head was a bit itchy due to the copious amounts of hair spray.

When we were done, she looked in the mirror and said, “Momma, I LOVE IT!” She beamed.

I breathed a sigh of relief. It looked pretty good, lopsided and all.

At the recital, I couldn’t really tell the difference between Mia’s lopsided bun and others constructed much better than mine. Her hair looked as lovely as every other little girl. However, if you look closely at the pictures from the show, you’ll probably see my mosaic of bobby pins.

She twirled and whirled across the stage, smile wide, loving her performance. I could have stuck a rainbow mohawk wig on her and she would have been happy.

I may not be a hair stylist extraordinaire, but my kids seem to like what I put together for them.

And as a final note, if your kid ever needs a “do” for Crazy Hair Day during school spirit week, I’m your gal.

 

2 thoughts on “bobby pins and ballet shoes

Leave a Reply

